Day 6 – Writing Resources #1

31 Days to Plan Your Novel

On Sundays, so you can read someone else’s voice for a change, (and frankly, because I need a bit of a break), I’ll be giving you a list of resources that I have used for writing. This post is not affiliate – I don’t get paid for telling you about them; the resources I’m sharing have been extremely useful and I sincerely recommend them.

The following three books are full of creative writing exercises. While not specifically related to novelling, they are packed with single-page activities that are great for shaking things down – and maybe finding a new idea:

Writing Resources - Creative Writing These two books by Bonnie Neubauer were the first writing books I ever owned and continue to get a workout whenever I’m feeling stuck on a project. I’ve gleaned countless ideas from the literally hundreds of writing exercises in these two books, as well as dozens of pages of writing that no one will ever see, but which stimulated other writing projects.

Head over to her site for some free writing exercises!

****

Writing Resources - Creative Writing The exercises Caroline Sharp’s book are less snappy than those in the other two resources, but I have used more of the product in my own writing, so I would be remiss in not mentioning it here. The exercises are thoughtful and maybe a little more ‘academic’ – I don’t know if that’s the right word to use, but it seems to fit. She also provides great reflections on the writing life, which can be really encouraging, especially if you find yourself nodding along to her catalogue of writer’s neuroses.

31 Days to Plan Your Novel

Every October, hundreds of bloggers gather at The Nesting Place to write for 31 days straight on a variety of different topics, teaching and encouraging and offering tips and tricks to make life easier.

2 comments

  1. I’m enjoying your series. I always have ideas that I think could make a good book. I may never end up writing a whole book, but if I never actually write them down then I definitely won’t write a book. I have The Write Brain and should pull it out again.

    1. Hi Nicole!

      I’m happy to hear from you! You’re right, the first step to getting your book out of your head and onto paper is to start writing. I hope that my series is helping you ‘get your book out.’

      I think that everyone has the ability to write a book if they have one inside them – it’s important to try a few different methods until you find one that works for you.

Leave a Reply

