2015 reading list and a non-strategy for reading more books

I’m adopting a three-tiered reading non-strategy this year. Normally I don’t have a strategy of any kind – I make a list of books I want to read, and then read from it, or not, whatever happens to suit my fancy at any given moment. I have a TBR list, but I’m not married to the list, and it’s always been beautifully fluid.

But there will be a new baby in March, and I’m feeling like I need a bit more structure in 2015. But not too much, because all of my favourite books from last year were all off-list, and I want the freedom to find something truly extraordinary.

So here’s the non-strategy:

Tier 1 – My twelve-book reading list. I feel like a book a month is doable. In fact, it’s conceivable that I reach this goal before the baby even arrives.

Tier 2 – A full 52-book list. I commit to a book a week every year, and rarely make it. I probably won’t make it this year. But I loved the PopSugar Reading Challenge and decided to make a list based on that. The twelve books from Tier 1 are curated from this list, so it’s an additional 40 books, not an addition 52.

Tier 3 – Whatever I want. Late in 2014, I discovered romance novels, and they remind me why I love reading. (I even wrote a romance novel for NaNoWriMo) But I like to read broadly, and I’m not going to have more than a couple romance titles on my reading list. Still, if I want to read twenty-five romance novels, or anything else as it comes along, I’m going to do it.

So that’s why it’s a non-strategy. My reading list is a guide, and a bit more structured than usual. I’ll probably finish Tier 1. But if I decide that what I really want to do is fill 2015 with bare-chested, bekilted Highlanders (in a manner of speaking) that is what I’ll do.

What follows is my Tier 1 reading list.

 Reading List 2015

  1. The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest – Stieg Larsson
  2. Emma – Jane Austen
  3. Own Your Life – Sally Clarkson
  4. The Luminaries – Eleanor Catton
  5. Yes, Please! – Amy Poehler
  6. Jesus Feminist – Sarah Bessey
  7. Hellgoing – Lynn Coady
  8. The Professor and the Madman – Simon Winchester
  9. The Children Act – Ian McEwan
  10. What I Talk About When I Talk About Running – Haruki Murakami
  11. Butterflies in November – Auður Ava Ólafsdóttir
  12. Night Film – Marisha Pessl

If you want to see what else I read this year, you can follow my progress on Goodreads or Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

